CaCHE Co-Investigators conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences

CaCHE Co-Investigators, Professor David Clapham (University of Glasgow) and Professor David Robinson (University of Sheffield), are among a group of leading housing academics to have been conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences following nomination by the Housing Studies Association (HSA). This award recognises individuals’ contribution to the use of social science for public benefit.

In response to the announcement, Dr Beth Watts, Chair of the HSA said:

“I’m delighted that the Housing Studies Association has been able to successfully nominate these outstanding scholars as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences. They have each made significant and impactful contributions to housing studies and the wider social sciences. What stands out about these four candidates is the extent to which they have combined sustained scholarly contributions to housing studies with active engagement in policy, practice and media debates over several decades. I know I will speak for the Housing Studies Association executive committee and membership in congratulating them on this achievement.”  

Professor David Robinson commented:

“I am very grateful to the Housing Studies Association for nominating me to become a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.  It is a great honour to join the long list of eminent housing scholars who have been nominated as Fellows with the support of the HSA.  As a Fellow I will do everything I can to support the HSA’s efforts to ensure that housing studies remains at the heart of efforts to promote social science within the UK and maximise the important contribution to be made to wider society.  This is particularly important given the current challenges we face in the UK and across the world ensuring people have access to decent, secure and affordable housing.”

As a learned society, the HSA is able to nominate candidates to become Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences on a regular basis.

Visit the HSA website to read the full press release.

The full list of social scientists conferred as Fellows is available on the Academy of Social Sciences website.


Date: October 18, 2018 5:01 pm


Categorised in: